1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Seasonal Color

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by jondcoleman, Mar 7, 2006.

1. jondcoleman

jondcoleman LawnSite Member

I am pretty new to the industry and have just done mowing and a little bit of other services. I am interested in getting started installing seasonal color for my maintenance accounts. I really don't have any experience in purchasing, planting, or maintaining flowers. Any ideas or suggestions as to how I would get started would be much appreciated.

Jon Coleman
    CLIP Lawn Care
    Maryland, USA
  2. New Image Lawn and Scapes

New Image Lawn and Scapes LawnSite Member

Talk your clients into it. Tell them how it will enhance property appearance. Then go to your local wholesale nursery and purchase. I am in VA. so i'm not to far from you, we pay about$1.75 per 6in pot and we install for $4.25 each pot. hope this helps.
  3. LandscapePro

LandscapePro LawnSite Member

Spend some time with a local grower and ask his advice as to what does well "where--sun, partial sun, shade" in your area.

Also, check with your State Ag. commision to make sure you aren't required to be licensed to do installations.

This requirement varies widely from place to place, however here you would have to be a licensed landscape contractor to plant anything.

La. Landscape Contractor #2576
  4. Dreams To Designs

Dreams To Designs LawnSite Bronze Member

Jon, what are you calling seasonal color? Typically seasonal color is annuals and bulbs. It is an excellent add-on to your existing business if done correctly and an eyesore if not.