seed or sod samll areas?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by gogetter, Aug 13, 2001.

1. gogetter

gogetter Banned

Hi guys. I have a new customer that wants to grow grass where they had a few big trees removed from.
    I guess they had a stump grinder come in because there is saw dust, chips, dirt and stuff in the areas now.

There are two areas. One measures about 6' in diameter. The other area is about 10' in diameter.

They are mounded up about 2" above ground level right now. They asked me to remove excess dirt/debris to about 2" below ground level, add topsoil til level. Then plant grass seed. (This is what HE said he wanted).

I currently only do maintenance so I have no experience with this type of thing.

They asked for a price, but first I need to know the best way to go about this.

Go with seed like he asked, or would sod be better/easier?

Anything special I need to do to prep area first?

2. CCLC

CCLC LawnSite Senior Member

We'd just dig out the debris and replace them with topsoil.

Rake seed into the topsoil and put some hydro mulch on top.

Have the customer water.

Grass will come.
  3. gogetter

gogetter Banned

This may be a dumb question, but I'll ask anyway.

It's about the hydro mulch that you mentioned. I've seen this stuff being sprayed out of large rigs on larger areas, but how would I get it for these small areas? Thanks.
  4. bam

bam LawnSite Senior Member
    from .

In PA you probably have access to Penn Mulch (I think it was created by Penn State?).

Or Lesco carries bags of seed starter. I would say they're all fairly equal in there purpose, to get seed going.

Or Sweeney Seed Company if there in your part of PA.

Usually in ~40lb bags;
    hydro mulch is usually a huge bale, when I worked for another company, they had it delivered 10 pallets at a time, if you could get 1 bale it would be from an ag supply or seed store.
  5. gogetter

gogetter Banned