seeding with K31

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by teejet, Aug 26, 2009.

1. teejet

teejet LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

does anyone still use K31 at all? I am new to seeding and I am going to by mostly millennium fescue. I am debating buying some k31 because it is cheap, also I have some lawns that already have it in them,and I thought it would blend better. I have read it sucks anyone is this true?

2. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

Very true--K-31 sucks. It has a very wide blade and poor agronomic properties. It was popular in the 1950's. Go with a top TTTF cultivar, like "Aztec".

3. grass4gas

grass4gas LawnSite Senior Member

I am probably in the minority here, but some of the best lawns that I have seen through the years are k-31 lawns. Once established, they are pretty much bullet proof.

They can and do have some issues with brown patch, but so do some of the other TTTF lawns. K-31 is also very durable and can take a good deal of abuse once established.

I use it for fenced areas that have heavy traffic such as dogs, play areas and such. Most people are turned off because of the wide blades.

Take it for what it's worth.

4. EVM

EVM LawnSite Senior Member

K-31 is tuff as nails. Any of you guys try Titan Limited TF? Very good stuff

5. LIBERTYLANDSCAPING

LIBERTYLANDSCAPING LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indiana

K-31 is tuff, but looks like crap! Not many customers would be happy having a lawn of that! If for some reason you do use it, make sure it is 100%-don't overseed a KBG/Rye lawn with it, or you'll be sorry! It grows at a much different rate than other varietys, grows in clumps & sticks out like a sore thumb:cry:

6. ted putnam

ted putnam LawnSite Platinum Member

The Highway Dept uses it around here for erosion control(I'm sure because it is cheap. It gows azz deep to an elephant if it misses a mowing or 2.

7. we still use it, grows well in red clay and rocks.

8. ATVracer

ATVracer LawnSite Senior Member