Service Fees

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by jtrice11, Jul 18, 2005.

1. jtrice11

jtrice11 LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to the industry and am wondering what you guys typically charge for a service call? LIke to come out and adjust timers, heads, make sure system is working correctly? I live in Minnesota. Any feedback would be appreciated.

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

Not less than fifty bucks minimum.

3. jimmyburg

jimmyburg LawnSite Senior Member

WE charge $65 per hour dont charge service call.

4. AceSprinkleRx

AceSprinkleRx LawnSite Member
    from Wyoming

I just finished my very first "call" from my classified ad and I'm not anywhere near a "metro area" like NYC or Minneapolis where I believe rates can be quite a bit higher. I charged $25 for the Service call and $25/hr. For parts I added an additional 10%.

Keep in mind I'm just starting out. So my three hour job grossed a bit over $33/hr (Labor + Service call/hrs). I replaced 2 heads, adjusted one and installed 3 RB 6" valve boxes for right at $145.00. Really haven't decided the best way to charge for material/parts yet. So I went with a sum total of parts and added the 10% ($45.00). I have a lot to learn though... I might be a "lowballer" in your area, but for around here I think I'm just below the others enough to get some jobs and experience I might not get otherwise.

After a few more jobs and when my overall comfort level gets a better, I might look at increasing rates and the way I charge for things. Thoughts???

~

5. jerryrwm

jerryrwm LawnSite Bronze Member