servicemagic.com

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by shane mapes, Feb 2, 2008.

1. shane mapes

shane mapes LawnSite Senior Member

i've been wanting to try servicemagic.com to see if it will help with my lco. i have read threads on this site , but i wanted to find out currently from you guys what you think. i have already talked to a rep. and he claims no set-up fees and no contract. basically can stop at any time. i would like your input... thanks in advance

2. MowHouston

MowHouston LawnSite Bronze Member

I've got no experience with Service Magic, but I'm gonna check em out.

I've been using Superpages with great results. But there is a year contract with them.

3. MowHouston

Update: While going through my profile set up, I see there is a $99 activation fee:

"IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT THE $99 US ACTIVATION FEE

One time charge for screening, processing and activating account
    Only charged if account is approved
    Transmission of billing information is protected by a secure server"

4. shane mapes

i was told that it would be waived because he has been trying for a year to sign and said that i would only be charged for leads..hopefully true.

5. MowHouston

Yeah. I wouldn't doubt them doing that to get you on board.

I had a website optimization company approach me asking me to sign up for their services for $550 down and $100/mo.

When I told them I don't have the money for it (an obvious excuse) they said they would take $50 off of the initial fee and give me 2 months free if I signed up -that- day. haha.

I haven't found anything on there about how much it is for leads though. Any info on that yet?

Also having trouble with them accepting my card for some reason. Says my card number isn't valid and it is... Probably gonna have to talk to a human to get that fixed. Ah well.

6. shane mapes