Setting the base couse for a wall

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by R.M Hanson, Jun 17, 2007.

1. R.M Hanson

R.M Hanson LawnSite Member

I've been building retaining wall for almost 10 years, and there has got to be a better way. I was wondering if any of you guys had any tricks or tips for making the base course of a wall easier to install. I've tried a few different ways, but all I can say is that it's a time consuming, slow, and stressfull process. Right now the system I use is pretty old school. I start by excavating the area with either a mini-ex or the skid, and lay down a base of compacted stone, using a thin layer of some stone dust for setting the blocks on. I use stringlines to keep the wall straight, and 3 different sizes of carpenters levels to make sure my blocks are all level. It seems like I spend most of my time adding or subtracting tiny amounts of base material, moving the blocks in and out several times, and swatting the heck out of the blocks with a big deadblow hammer. It's a very slow frustrating, process and It's about enough to make me want to quit, but my walls always turn out nice, so it's a proven system. Any ideas to help speed up the process or to make life easier would be greatly appreciated.

2. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

I think that's the tried & true method. It's better to take your time & have it perfect than to rush through it & end up w/ a less than par wall & a dissatisfied customer.

3. New Heights

New Heights LawnSite Member

Thats the same way I do it. I take my time and it allways comes out perfect. Try training your guys to do it so you dont have to, that is what im working on.

4. GreenN'Clean

GreenN'Clean LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree its better to take your time and do it the right way then try to fly through just to finish the job.

5. zedosix

zedosix LawnSite Silver Member

I grade the entire area for the base course then lay the blocks in one shot.

6. greg1

greg1 LawnSite Member