sharpened blades

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by scorpioxx, Apr 17, 2008.

1. scorpioxx

scorpioxx LawnSite Member

how many times can you sharpen blades b4 they bacome absolete?

2. XterraJohn

XterraJohn LawnSite Member

I once took a blade in to be sharpened that had a hole through the section where the blade kicks up in the back to create suction. It was explained to me that after years of mowing, dirt and other material basically sand blasts away the metal, creating a hole.

If nothing like this has happened to your blades, and they are not bent or otherwise damaged beyond reasonable repair, I imagine that you can keep sharpening them as long as there is enough steel left on them to maintain strength.

Of course, I am no expert, so, I could be completely wrong with all of this... Sharpen at your own risk.

3. jaybird24

jaybird24 LawnSite Senior Member
    from midwest

Not a clue- usually someone hits enough rocks to turn them into brush blades long before they would be used up. Makes me wonder though if by taking that much away from a blade would affect the cut. Less inertia from less mass, or if these machines don't really care whats down there?

4. fatjack

fatjack LawnSite Member

Remember, as you sharpen blades THEY GET SHORTER! First signs are an uncut strip showing up where two blades used to overlap. We've had this "blades getting shorter" discussion before, and some folks still don't believe it; but remember the cutting length of a blade is measured on the diagonal from one sharp corner point to the other. As you remove metal by sharpening, this distance gets shorter.

FJ

5. I sharpen them until the sharpened edge starts going up the sail that's bent up on the back side of the blade.

6. KGR landscapeing

KGR landscapeing LawnSite Bronze Member

what they cost 5 bucks a blade so you sharpen them till you dont think they seem good then use them as paper weights

7. Two Seasons

Two Seasons LawnSite Senior Member