Should I fire this customer??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnprosteveo, Jan 9, 2005.

1. lawnprosteveo

lawnprosteveo LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

I have a residential customer. She lives in an affluent section of the city. She is friendly, not picky.... Her small yard (about 4000 sq ft) pays me $35 per week for mowing. She pays at least a month up front... She also lets me do her leaves which pays pretty well... but there is one catch!

She runs a Greyhound rescue/adoption service out of her home. I think she has 10 to 12 dogs at a time in her home. They sh** all over her nicely landscaped backyard!! The smell from the back almost gags me....and I'm a firefighter and EMT so I've smelled some sh**!!!

My equipment, my shoes, my crews' shoes all are covered in sh** when we are done.... we literally have slipped around in the back yard as we mow! We have to spend a good 5 minutes or so hosing off all this off of us and our stuff!! My crew DREADS this yard....they hate it!! I gotta say I do to...

So, would you dump her or just grin and bear it? :help: :dizzy:

2. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

You already have your answer and just want us to back you in the decision it sounds like...

SO DUMP HER!!! LOL.... Just explain to her that she is what you consider an ideal customer, and you really appreciate her business and the opportunity to work with her, but due to circumstances, you will not be able to service her property until conditions change to meet your requirements.

3. Fantasy Lawns

Fantasy Lawns LawnSite Bronze Member

I have NEVER let a coustomer go .... I just raise the price

I would tell her it's $45 per cut if it stays same or $35 per cut if the yard is clean

4. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

You do not say how long you have had this customer, but I think this issue should have been already addressed to her.