Should I get a Mig?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.lawnsite.com/buttons/jump.php?i' started by mowerman90, Mar 24, 2003.

1. mowerman90

mowerman90 LawnSite Bronze Member

I currently have a 230 amp stick welder that I've had for the last 5 years. Paid $75 at a yard sale for it. I STILL don't know how to weld with it. Just call me "old poke and hope". I guess you could say I'm self taught. My welds hold and most have never broken, but damn, they're really UGULY. Thank heavens for the angle grinder.

My question is: Do you think I'd be able to learn and use one of the $200 - $300 Mig wire fed (flux core) welders on the market. I've got some projects that I'd like to build and although the stick welder will do the job, I'd like have it look a little better. What's the best machine out there for my price range? I DO have a 220V recepticle by the garage door in case that matters.

2. vipermanz

vipermanz LawnSite Bronze Member

if you want to learn to weld easy , GET THE MIG., you will love it!:) !!!

3. ducky1

ducky1 LawnSite Senior Member

Sounds like you need to do what I done several years ago. Check your local college and see if they have a night course in welding and take it . Adult classes are usually cheep and well worth the time. Both welders have their purpose in a shop. Depends on what you are trying to weld.

4. bastalker

bastalker LawnSite Senior Member

hey mowerman...dont mean to be mean, but they make 29.99 4 1/2 inch grinders for ugly welds, and after it is painted who cares...cheaper than a 200-300 mig machine..my .02:D

5. longviewlawncare

longviewlawncare LawnSite Senior Member

once you use a mig you will never go back unless you have to. I use flux core wire outside and mig wire with gas inside and it is so easy to do. Stick welding always gave me a little bit of trouble, but mig is easy. Take a class at your local community college also. This will help alot too.

6. blafleur

blafleur LawnSite Member