1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Should I give my full time accounting job to do lawn service full time?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tsh1773, Jun 17, 2004.

1. tsh1773

tsh1773 LawnSite Senior Member

First of all I have a college degree in Accounting. Since college I have had a full time job in the accounting field although with many different companies. My last accounting job ended on June 8 with the plant closing where I was earning almost 45k in a salaried position. I knew the plant was gonna close for some time and during that time I couldn't decide if I should expand my lawn care business and do it full time. I have no problem getting additional business. At the moment I am turning down several residential accounts since I only have Saturday and Sunday to maintain the accounts I currently have.

I was offered a job in another city about 45 minutes away making 48k in a salaried position. This position currently has no 401k. I took the position with doubts in mind and began last Wednesday, June 9.

I would love to do lawn care/maintenance full time and be my own boss. I have the equipment to run full time. I keep going back and forth with this and wanted other opinions.

I'm sure this has come up on this site before.

What would you do? What would you suggest?
  2. Acute Cut

Acute Cut LawnSite Senior Member

What are your financial obligations at this time? Got family? Kids? Can you afford to be "poor" until this picks up more full time? Do you think THIS is the right time to try and grow? in my area the window for the big rush of new calls is almost over. If it were me i would at least wait till next spring before doing it. Then you can advertise and grow as needed vs now the main advertising avenues are pretty much done for the year. (phone book) JMO though.