Should I go for the Architect degree

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by VisionLandscape, Nov 24, 2006.

1. VisionLandscape

VisionLandscape LawnSite Member

Hi, Im new to the forums. Im a Landscape student in college. Im currently on the Landscape contractor degree. Ive taken courses such as Landscape design and soo on. But was wondering If I should go for the Landscape Architect degree instead. Is the Architect degree really needed. (My landscape design teacher doesnt think soo ). But I want to get all of your thoughts. What are the pros of having the Architect degree. Thank you

(P.S. this site is great, very, very helpful).

2. mdvaden

mdvaden LawnSite Bronze Member

If you think you will be focusing more on spending time indoors and at the planning table and computer, that would be a good idea.

If you want to be outdoors, focusing on design and intall, then it's an option that may not add that much more to your results.

3. PaperCutter

PaperCutter LawnSite Bronze Member

Depends what you want to do. LAs are more involved in large-scale commercial and municipal projects; LDs tend to focus more on residential. If I had it to do over again, I would get my MLA, but then I would love to be able to do the large-scale sitework and such.

4. huh

huh LawnSite Senior Member
    from Lubbock

Horticulture, Landscape Design, Turf Care, Landscape Architecture........all best learned outside the classroom

as someone with a Hort degree I really don't think a ton of Landscape Architects......BUT their drawing degree allows them to obtain licensure and then stamp expensive plans that tell others who will actually do the work where to put plants.....so I may one day obtain an MLA just because of that