Should I repair it myself???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by battags, Feb 18, 2006.

1. battags

battags LawnSite Senior Member

Well I'm faced with the ever-daunting decision of trying to make some repairs that I have never done before or pass it on to the dealer and eat the cost.

My 2003 Bobcat w/b has some pretty worn hydro control arms/assemblys on each side. The pumps are just fine, it's just that the linkages on each side are so worn that there is way too much play in the controls. I'm adjusting it every morning and cant keep her tracking strait.

I'm pretty handy and could probably figure it out, but I don't know if it will be worth the aggrivation. Should I sent it to the dealer or do it myself? Anyone with experience doing this?

2. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

Apparently you consider doing mechanical work an aggrivation. Some of would look at it differently, a learning experience, a challenge, an opportunity to be productive, learning the mechanics of how it works so that it can be adjusted to work like we want it to work, and so that we aren't paying somebody else money when we have the time to do it (unable to make money doint something else).

The fact that you asked the question tells me you have pretty well decided to have a dealer do the work. That's fine. No problem with having the necesssary repairs made by others.

What is right for some folks isn't right for other folks.

3. battags

You couldn't be more wrong. TIme IS money and I have very little extra of both to go around. I know that I could figure it out and make my repairs in my own shop.

I also know that I could spend 8 hours ordering parts, picking them up, and making the repairs when the dealership could do it in 2. Say the dealership charges me $300 for the fix. Well, that may be worth my time as I make more than $37 per hour.