Show me the money!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by jz1english, Sep 15, 2006.

1. jz1english

jz1english LawnSite Member

Hello,

I am just getting started in developing a business plan for a landscaping business I intend to start. I plan on starting out doing maintenance because I have experience in lawn mowing, bush trimming, etc. However, I am wondering where the real bid dollar profits are in landscaping. As I understand it, there are three aspects of landscaping: Design, maintenance and installation. What areas would I want to eventually expand into to make the bigger dollars and how would I go about doing that?

Thanks for you advice.

John

2. TURF DOCTOR

TURF DOCTOR LawnSite Silver Member

It all goes hand to hand here.

3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

The real dollar profits are realized after their check successfully clears the bank, pays for all the cost, and there is some left over...
    That's your real profit, everything else is bs lol.

It's not so much what you do, it has a lot to do with how fast you can do it and how low you can keep your own cost while keeping the quality high enough to justify a steep enough price.

p.s.: take it easy, slow down some :)

4. DuraCutter

DuraCutter LawnSite Senior Member

John, there is money in all 3 aspects, but as you'll probably fiind out the hard way, there is less money in straight cutting the grass and as you put it, you have lots of experience in cutting grass. You shouldn't be surprised that there are a lot of people like you who have lots of experience cutting grass.