Simplicity Citation VS exmark Lazer Z AS

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by dcook, Oct 5, 2006.

1. dcook

dcook LawnSite Member

I am starting my business, and have been looking at the Simplicity Citation. This is Simplicity's commercial grade ZTR. It has a 52" deck and 23 HP Briggs engine. My dealer also sells exmark ZTR's. The exmark Lazer Z AS compares to the Simplicity Citation. My dealer claims the Citation is in the same ballpark as the exmark, and is slightly less expensive. I am aware of the quality of exmark, and I know of many professional companys that use exmark. My question is do any of you have any experience with Simplicity commercial ZTR mowers? If they are as good as my dealer says they are, why don't I see any professionals using them? I am leaning towards the Simplicity because I am just getting started and could use the price difference to invest in other equipment.

2. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

The AS is a great mower to start out with and has one of the best decks out there. I see plenty of professionals using them and few with the Simplicity. I would lean the other way if I were you. I have owned an AS and it is basically the origianal Lazer Z. This is a no contest decision, Exmark with the Ultracut deck is one of the better machines out there. You'd be better of to try to save some bucks on the equipments starting out than you main piece of equipment. Nobody will know which trimmer you used, or which blower but when they see the cut quality that says everything. No brainer in this case, I am 100% positive you should get the Exmark over the Simplicity. Make that 200% sure no matter what others may say.

3. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic