sit down sulky

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BerksLawn, Feb 10, 2001.

1. BerksLawn

BerksLawn LawnSite Member

do u think i could put a sit down sulky on a belt drive 48" kees wb or will i be pulling wheelies even though i only weight 160lbs husky has one and on the picture it hs it on a the 36" beltdrive. would it be to much wear on the transmission?

2. BUSHMASTER

BUSHMASTER LawnSite Senior Member

you should have a problem keeping the front down ....i havent seen a kees but u you can add some weight to the front of the mower to keep it down... but i think you would be more productive with a stand up model with two wheels...better on hills slopes and you can turn it faster and tighter. it's like sufrin daddy-o.......

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

I've been pulling a sit down sulky behind a 50" Gravely for 3 years and it was behind a 36" Woods before that for 3 years. The only time it would pull a wheelie is when you went straight up a hill and you got to the top of the hill. Making turns in 4th and 5th gear can be tricky though. For this year I have added a platform to stand on so now it's a sit/stand sulky. There are several manufactures that make a sulky like this.

4. lawman

lawman LawnSite Member

Not to change the subject, but who is it to use a sitdown sulkie?

5. BerksLawn

BerksLawn LawnSite Member

i think im just going to get a 2 wheeled velke i have the 1 wheeled and it clogs up if the ground is weat so ill just put that on my 36". thanks

6. cantoo

cantoo LawnSite Silver Member