1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Size Matters???

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by toddnks, Jul 21, 2005.

1. toddnks

toddnks LawnSite Member

Ok, here I am another guy who has a large property to mow. Fortunate for me I make my living not cutting grass all the time, so I don't know about all the issues related to different manufacturers. The question to me is complex, but should have a simple answer.

I have $5K. Possibly more (depends on how I spend it) to spend on a ZTR or CUT or possibly a large Lawn and Garden Tractor.

I have no pre-formed opinions about any manufacturer as I currently mow with a IH Cub 154 with a 3260 deck. The tractor was built when I was 2. So my experience with current equipment is none.

The cub is a 15 horse 4 cylender machine with a 1300+rpm pto. This drives a 60" mower deck. It takes me multiple days to mow my ground (5 acres - house, driveways, and a pond). If I am lucky and spend a large amount of time on the tractor I can burn 8 to 10 gallons of fuel and have everything mowed. This happens about 2 times a year.

So I have decided to purchase something that will allow me to complete the task in about 1 day or less.

My delima is that I think I would be money ahead to purchase a 60+" commercial rather than a smaller commercial or residential. As you can tell I don't plan on getting rid of what I purchase. I have my opinions about brands just like everyone else, so I am not looking for that recomendation, but rather am I right in thinking that a 60" is better than a 48 or 50?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

PS the slope I live on is about a grade with the pond being a little steaper. The 154 goes great side to side or up and down on the pond dam (though when the growth is thick, I can kill the tractor on an up cut.
  2. toddnks