skid steer business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bobbyg18, Jul 7, 2006.

1. bobbyg18

bobbyg18 LawnSite Member

anyone out there a one man skid steer operation only?..can this be done?

i want one piece of equipment for a one man part time operation...my target will be small day jobs...i am a firefighter looking to start a part time biz...i've looked at other equipment and i have decided that a skid steer is the way to go because of its versatility, especially for snow plowing and removal...in addition i will be targeting landscapers, and contracters

im looking at the bobcat s185 or s220...i've talked to a few dealers and the bobcat dealer is helping me out a lot more than the others (and they are the closest)...

2. Birdhunter1

Birdhunter1 LawnSite Senior Member

I am looking for a skidsteer too in about the same class as you are (S185-S220 or 743-773). I think a guy could stay fairly busy with a skidsteer doing small jobs for people here and tehre but like any business you've got to stick to a price and not be doing freebies for friends all the time.

I think with a skidsteer and a 7x14 dump trailer and you could stay very busy.

3. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

Yes you can make some cash but a new skid steer is some serious money. Those friggin things cost more than a pickup.

4. bobbyg18

bobbyg18 LawnSite Member

bobcat of boston quoted me 34K for the S220...then he mentioned he believes they might go as low as 30K for the S220 but he does not have the approval yet...

he said he will drop it off tues for me to demo...

any idea what type of hourly rates are out there?...from my research it seems to be a very wide range of rates, anywhere like 50-80 per hour???...

5. SWD

SWD LawnSite Senior Member

The best way to figure hourly rates for your area is through equipment rental agencies.