1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Slap in Face!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LAWNGODFATHER, May 16, 2003.

1. A lawn I have been doing for 13 years, it's 107m the LCO I got it from had it over fertilized, cut weekly no matter rain or shine at 3" left it clumpy unless it didn't grow.

I got it, did all the lawn work and leaf removal.

Up till last year we did the leaves and mulch and other stuff etc.. Now he has some guy who works 4-10 hour days a week and makes $50k a year working there for $12 an hour and I am sure not claiming it.

So to bring yall up to date here, doing the lawn apps, had many compliments over the last couple years how great the lawn looks and how weed free and no bare spots, this year customer only sent back mowing contract and nothing else, so earlier this week they call and ask if I had been doing the apps, of course since no contract for it the answer was no, so they wanted to know how much, $321 an app. for 6 steps (same as last 4 years)......They say too expensive and in the past they kept saying I was cheap on the mowing and all, I haven't raised their price in 4 years on anything.

I am too expensive!!!!!!!!

Went in to do some apps in the sub, guys are in there mowing and guess what I see?

TGCL was there today as a matter of fact, and yes we mowed it.

What a slap in the face, I was so pissssssed. I almost told them to go to HE!!......

Man that makes me mad
  2. crazygator

crazygator LawnSite Bronze Member

Its just all part of a day in the life of a Lawn Care Operator.

Sorry bout your loss. I am sure you will make it up some where else.

And remember, if you lose a customer to PRICE ONLY, then thats all they will ever get, which is a PRICE JOB. You and I know that we dont need those kinds of customers.

Chin up ok?