small commercial mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by teach, Jun 21, 2003.

1. teach

teach LawnSite Member

I have been cutting grass (and weeds) for about 5 years now. I have decided to move to a commercial ZTR mower. I would like to spend around $6,000 (give or take a little $). I have two areas of concern, dependability and quality of cut in short and tall grass. Some brands that I have close access to are Grass Hopper, Scag, Hustler, Gravely, Bob-Cat, Toro, and Husqvarna. I'm looking for around 18-19hp with 48-52" cut. Your professional advice will be greatly appreciated.

2. pottstim

pottstim LawnSite Senior Member

Teach,
    Hello from Jefferson County, TN and welcome to lawnsite. I am just starting out and just bought a Toro Walkbehind 48". So, I can't advise you on a ZTR. I'll let some of the more experienced people advise you on that. Have you looked at a Toro ZTR yet? If you don't mind driving a bit, check out Lane Sales. They are located off Hwy. 25E between Morristown and White Pine on Wilson-Hale Road. Ask for Todd or Randy. They are very good people and have taken very good care of me. If you make it up there, tell them that Tim sent you (the guy that bought the Proline 48 from them 2 weeks ago). They will know who you are talking about. Well, best of luck to you. Nice to see someone else from TN in here. :D

Tim

3. chitwood

chitwood LawnSite Member

I just ordered a new super z 60 hustler with 27hp. I have a 42in encore ztr that I've used for two years it's OK. The hustler rode and handled great I would recommend trying out the fastrak or mini Z , Hustler is running a sale this month. Line up a demo and see for your self. Good Luck it's hard to decide with the machines available today>:) :)

4. bayfish

bayfish LawnSite Senior Member

I just purchased a Hustler Z 60" 24 hp. Very happy with it. It seems to be a step up from the Toro.

5. Rustic Goat

Rustic Goat LawnSite Bronze Member