Small stone job.. help with bid please

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Lawn-Scapes, Apr 4, 2002.

1. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

A customer asked me if I could put some 1/2" red landscape stone down in a couple of landscape beds.. I've never done stones before but it can't be much different than mulch.. can it?

I calculate that I will need about 1 yard (1.25 ton) My cost for the stone will be $62.

I will need to rake existing mulch out of beds, lay plastic and place the stones down..

I am figuring $75 for the stone

Delivery $30

Cost of the plastic $?

and labor... 2 hours $90

~ $200.... Does this sound about right?

2. RwADesigner

RwADesigner LawnSite Member

Hey Tom...

I dont know if this helps....but we do mostly stone, gravel, and landscape design/installation...so i know more about how to charge for stone than i do for maintenance...so this may help

On everything that i will need for the job that will be used (your stone, plastic, etc.) I take that total (your cost) X (10%) for profit on materials....

then just figure in your hourly rate in..

so if stone cost $65 (65) x (.10)= $6.50 total for stone will be $71.50

hope this helps......

lata
    RWA

3. LawnLad

LawnLad LawnSite Senior Member

What about landscape fabric (soil separator) cloth between stone and the bed... this way water will move through the bed.

Stone moves slower than mulch, so the 2 hours or a little more makes sense for 1 ton of gravel. You might have more or less labor prepping the site. As well, you may want to put the gravel/stone down at at least 2" thick so the fabric/plastic doesn't show through. This might require a little more material than quoted, depending on square footage.

4. RwADesigner

Best way to do it..is..

1. figure cost of materials. x(10%)
    2. figure prep time .........and you are right..prep time with your situation is a more strenious and time consuming task

3. figure in actual time for moving stone