Smaller Trucks?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by John Rayl, Feb 20, 2001.

1. John Rayl

John Rayl LawnSite Member

Can anyone tell me if I can get a 48" Turf Tracer into the back of a Chevy S-10, Ford Ranger, or a Dodge Dakota? I need to get a truck, and I'd like to get a smaller one if the mower would fit without a lot of hassle. I'm just starting out, so I'll be working solo for a while. Any info would be appriciated!

2. GREG R

GREG R LawnSite Member

I believe the wheel wells in a those trucks are smaller than
    48" (I think they are slightly larger than 36")
    Go for a full size than later on you can pull a trailer
    with it. Won't be a big differance in cost either.

3. Premo Services

Premo Services LawnSite Bronze Member

I believe Greg R is right about the wheel wells, and another thing to think about,I worked for a company about 8 years ago and they had the dodge dakotas with the 3.8 V-6,these trucks sucked gas worse than my full size gmc 4 by 4 that I have now,although they would pull pretty good because of the lower gear ratio.

4. motor86

motor86 LawnSite Member

I am using my Toyota this year for mowing. You can get a 48" in the back, just back it in. The wheels on a walk behind should go between the wheelwells and the deck will fit behind. You will like the smaller trucks. Mine gets 20+ mpg. Great for me.

5. CT18fireman

CT18fireman LawnSite Senior Member

I started with a Toyota first with the box and then a flatbed. I was a one man operation. When I went to two mowers I could easily pull them on my 12ft trailer using the Toyota 4x4. The bed was then converted to hold trimmers, hand tools and clippings. Then I went to big trucks ehic are great for big trailers and riders. I am now in the process of rebuilding a Toyota similiar to what I had to use on small jobs. Can't go wrong with a small truck if you are a small operation. Even towing I could still get 15mpg. Good Luck!

6. GREG R

GREG R LawnSite Member