1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Smartphones? Pocket PCs?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by apowell18, Dec 18, 2006.

1. apowell18

apowell18 LawnSite Member

I really didn't know where else to post this and since I am still learning this seemed like a good spot.

I will be beginning my business this spring as well as beginning my Masters degree in August. I will be away from home dawn to dusk most days of the week and I am looking for a smartphone or pocket pc to purchase. I am with T-Mobile and they have an MDA that I can buy...my questions:

Do any of you have this technology and use for your business? There is alot of software that can be installed on these phones such as weather forcasts and maps as well as GPS.

For those that do use this technology, what software do you particularly like and recommend? I noticed I can also install financial billing software to keep track of time and whatnot.

Thanks fellas...
  2. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member

I guess I'm wondering, if you want portability, why don't you just get a laptop?

I must admit, I have been looking at HP's IPAQ series of pocket PCs though.

But, I think a laptop would be more versatile, unless you MUST carry it in your pocket.
  3. stuffdeer

stuffdeer LawnSite Bronze Member

Just get a internet card form your favorrite carrier, and Buy a laptop. Much more useful and worth it.

Many of the smart phones on the market, are slow, and crash a lot.
  4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic