smashed rear window

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Charles, Apr 11, 2000.

1. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member

Was weedeating a vets office yesterday. Close to a huge car lot. The vets office had a few weeks before a septic tank and lines put in. Clogs of dirt and rocks were in the grass. I was weedeating in that area. Must have hit a rock. It flew 20' hit the rear windshield of a 1999 truck. A salesman heard it from accross the lot and came running over and yell he busted the windshield. They said a new solid windshield would run over 1300$$. But the manager said since it was a used truck he didnt care if they put a sliding glass type. 266$ installed. Anyway insurance will pay for it. I have been cutting that yard for 10 years and nothing like that has ever happen. I have never had a weedeater sling anything that hard and far enough to bust out a window. it was a 2100 echo. )(*&%% <br>

2. steveair

steveair LawnSite Bronze Member

When we mow with our 20 ft batwing on the field, we have had reports of debris flying out and hitting planes parked over 100 ft away. Price of the average plane...between 3 to 56 million. Imagine the cost of fixing one of those windshields. <p>Don't feel bad. Just another day in this business.<p>steveair

3. pete

pete LawnSite Member

heheh Dont feel bad, one of my guys did the same thing. He was edging a side walk and he picked up a rock. Hit a all glass storm door. Shatered the whole thing. Had to send the door to New Jersey to get the tempered glass put in. Apparently they are the closest to the NOVA area who have the right equipment. Any way i know how you feel

4. DMC300

DMC300 LawnSite Senior Member

I DID THE SAME THING A FEW MONTHS BACK,TO A 2000 FORD F-I50 LARIAT.THE GUY CLOSED HIS DOOR AFTER I LEFT AND THE WHOLE BACK BLEW OUT.HE CALLED ME TO LET ME KNOW WHAT I DID,BUT HE LET HIS INS.CO.TAKE CARE OF IT. HE'S ALWAYS BEEN A GOOD CUSTOMER!<p>----------<br>DON<br>LIANNES' MOWING

5. little green guy