Snap-On Tool Warranty

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Stillwater, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

Has anyone hear ever had a issue or hassle with the Snap-On Tool Warranty?

2. merrimacmill

merrimacmill LawnSite Senior Member

I haven't. I own all snap on boxes and tools and if I have a problem, I call up the dealer and he comes down within a couple hours. Part of why they cost so much..

Are you having problems with it?

3. Stillwater

Kinda sort of.. I don't see a dealer on a regular basis. But I have a master set I kinda got a hassle or rather attitude. He took one of my drivers that had a worn tip and made a backhanded comment. he took a 1/2 inch box wrench and put it over the blade and then clamped it in his vise. He then whacked the handle off with a hammer. He clamped a new blade in the vise and hammered the handle back on the new blade. now I got a driver with a dent in it from the wrench and a dent on the top of the handle from the hammer and a bunch of tinny teeth marks on the new blade. When I got home I went to the snap-on website and read their warranty. Their warranty is extremely long and full of nonsense and it is at their discretion only. I am wondering if Snap-on is slowly,slowly curtailing their replacement policy so no one notices. I am a little wary now about my set and I don't need to tell you what the master set costs. Am I always going to get crap back from the guy? I am hoping it is a isolated incident.

4. Fisher40037

Fisher40037 LawnSite Member

They do get a little testy when a non-regular wants anything replaced.
    They replace screwdiver tips in a similar fashion, but I have never had one
    so rough as to leave marks though. You could contact his local superior
    and talk to him, but do not tread too heavily, it will just make any future dealings problematical.

Fish

5. Stillwater