1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Snapper 21" Ninja Mulching Mower.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MowHouston, Aug 7, 2008.

1. MowHouston

MowHouston LawnSite Bronze Member

I've been looking at some 21" mowers and I stopped at a dealership that carries Snapper. I've got no experience with these mowers and wanted to know if anyone has any input on them.

I really like the cupholder :) But of course I just need something with a good cut at a good pace. I got quoted $890 out the door for this mower.

Feel free to plug in your opinions and any other 21" that you might recommend.
  2. Scagguy

Scagguy LawnSite Bronze Member

If you are mainly mulching, then I'd go with either a Exmark or Toro. They do a much better job. If you are mainly bagging, then the Snapper is the better mower. I own all of these mowers and know this from my experiece.
  3. MowHouston

I hardly ever bag. Just mulching. I'll see about visiting a Toro dealer this weekend I guess.
  4. saw man

saw man LawnSite Bronze Member
    from utah

Snapper does have a deck that is designed for mulching that does very well.
  5. redfox033

redfox033 LawnSite Member

I had a Snapper with the Ninja blade, it mulched pretty good at the slowest speed. If you ran it 3/4 to full speed it wanted to lay the grass over, I don't care about mulching so I just put a normal blade on it and its fine.
  6. tlb9596

tlb9596 LawnSite Member

They're great machines. You're in Houston, so there are a million Snapper dealers, but there are alot that don't stock the machines. You should be able to find them for under $800. How is the dealership? Is it neat and professional, with a good service center? I wouldn't hesitate to pay a little more if the dealership was of better quality (fast, professional service).
  7. BillWil