1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Snapper 33" Z-Rider

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by baldbeefman, Apr 7, 2001.

1. baldbeefman

baldbeefman LawnSite Member

Okay, don't laugh. I bought this mower because I'm just getting started and my wife won't let me buy a manly mower until I get enough contracts to pay for it. Anyway, I bought this mower, it was zero-turn, hydrostatic drive, had bagger, and cheap. I figured I would keep it for getting through gates and buy a BIG mower later. Well, the mower sucks at bagging and the cut is awfull. I have to drive about half speed to get a good cut, which is SLOW! Is this because its just the first of the season and the grass is all weeds and bend more? Will it get better? Is it something I'm doing?
    I'm thinking about buying a Kubota 60" diesel, most of my friends own either Dixons or MTD ZTR mowers.
  2. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

The blade tip speed on most home owner mowers are to slow for a good cut. Speed the rpm's up to the maximum your engine should run at no load and that will help some.

Of the 3 you mentioned, the Kubota sounds the best to me. I have a diesel Chopper and love it. If you are getting into this for the long run, the diesel will save you enough on fuel over many years to pay for it. Mine burns half the fuel my other gas Chopper uses, so it adds up. The price of fuel is supposed to sky rocket, so anything to save a buck is needed.
  3. curry

curry LawnSite Member