snow blade

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by nfarr, Nov 26, 2005.

1. nfarr

nfarr LawnSite Member

I have a 20/52 fastrak and have been servicing about 12 lawns a week, all under 15000ft2. Some have asked me to do snow removal for them this year. Has anyone used the snow blade, or the snow blower and what has your experience been?

Thanks,

2. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Syracuse, NY

The blade is brand new, you will not have to much input there, but in our testing (upper Midwest snowbelt) it worked excellent.
    Same goes for the snowblower.
    How many driveway's do you plan on doing?

Pj

3. nfarr

nfarr LawnSite Member

That is good to know. I am considering getting a walk behind snow blower for walks and the blade for the Fastrak. I would like to do about 40 driveways each snow fall. I am a home services/remodeling contractor as well as rehabber. A good amount of my business comes from Real Estate Agent referrals. A couple have asked me to do snow removal at their vacant listings. In order to justify the expense I would need to do quite a few homes.

4. mowerconsultant

Male, from Syracuse, NY

I would shy away from doing 40 driveways each snowfall with the FasTrak snowblower.
    Get yourself a couple good commercial duty walk behind snowblowers or a plow truck.

Pj

5. gps_jetskier

gps_jetskier LawnSite Senior Member

So you've been testing a Hustler snow plow or someone elses?
    Is there a link for what you've been testing?
    The other post I made wasn't a Huslter version.

gpshemi

6. mowerconsultant

Male, from Syracuse, NY

We tested the last couple of winters with a FasTrak snowblade, these are just now being made available to dealers to sell.
    The Fastrak blade is a Hustler model, not aftermarket.
    We will be testing a blade on the full frame Hustler / Super Z's this winter.

Pj

7. nfarr

nfarr LawnSite Member