1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Snowplow size

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by wxmn6, May 7, 2001.

1. wxmn6

wxmn6 LawnSite Member

I am new to snowplowing. I have a small pickup truck and would like to get a Fisher 6'9" plow. I am not sure if I should buy new or used plow. I wonder that if I buy a new plow, and if several years later I decide to get a bigger truck, would 6'9" still be able to fit in? I would need to get a different brackets, but still would this small plow be able to fit on larger truck which manufacturer recommend like for example, 7.5' plow?
  2. Alan

Alan Member

Again, buy a Sno-Way, for now go with a Series 25 power unit and frame, put either a Series 24 6' 8" or Series 25 7' moldboard on it. Then if you do trade up to a bigger truck you can go 7', 7'6", 8' or 9' on the same frame and only have to trade moldboards, which would be a bunch cheaper than having to swap the whole plow. And 6' 9" will NOT be big enough if you go to a full sized truck, when angled you will not be clearing the width of the truck itself.
  3. 75

75 LawnSite Senior Member

Alan's giving you good advice - especially if you go with the down-pressure feature on your Sno-Way.

If you can afford it, new is the way to go. Good used plows are available, but you want to check everything over real well before buying - I've seen quite a few that were pretty "beat".

And 6' 9" is definitely too narrow for a full size truck.
  4. Deere John

Deere John LawnSite Senior Member

I vote as above. Sno-way for the small one-plow operation where backblading is to be done alot.
  5. BRL

BRL LawnSite Bronze Member