So (YOU) want to get into the biz?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Full throttle lawn care, May 18, 2006.

1. Full throttle lawn care

Full throttle lawn care LawnSite Member

All I can say is good luck with idiots. This is my first year and it was going great until lately. It all seem to start when I took out my clients bathroom window that cost me 108.00 the week after I had a couple clients call and told me to skip there yard do to a lack of rain and there yard was looking find. Then when I show up it's out of control and ends up taking me an extra 20min to do the yard. If thats not enough one has the nerve to call me at 9:30 tonight to inform me that I broke his sprinkler pipe thats under ground and it flooding the lawn and that It happened from my mower running over it. Mine you these are pop up sprinkler heads that are under ground when mowing. He now wants me over there to fix it or he will know longer need my service. He owes me 150.00 as of now and if I don't fix it I will more then likely will not get paid. And then you have (can you do this and that it will only take a second). Ya right! Just venting guys I'm just getting fed up with people and there penny pinching ways. And I though this was going to be easy money.:hammerhead: What was I thinking?

2. cwlawley

cwlawley LawnSite Senior Member

I am with you man. My trimmer guy missed a 4x2 strip of grass at one of our properties today. The guy called us back at 8:30pm and told me to come back and fix it. I was actually wondering to myself today if it was all worth it?

3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

First off I have a rule:
    My company and I are not responsible for damage to or from objects in customer's yard.
    In return for this, the customer is not responsible for damages to myself or my equipment.

Because here is the problem:
    - I break something of theirs, who pays? Me?
    - If my stuff breaks, say I hit a water meter with the mower, who pays? Me again?