Soil analysis - need your help on this one

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by David W, Jul 25, 2007.

1. David W

David W LawnSite Senior Member

I just received these results back from A & L Labs in Memephis. I have researched the previous threads on this subject but still would like to have you guys feedback and comments.

The lawn was just renovated last fall, with new topsoil brought in and graded etc, and seeding with a fescue blend. It looked great coming up and again this spring but is really starting to thin out.

These results are above me as I am still learning and this is new to me.

Would appreciate your help.

Attached Files:

2. muddstopper

muddstopper LawnSite Silver Member

Looking at the nutrient levels, you would think that this lawn has everything it needs. There are a couple of things out of wack. Excessive high zinc levels are tieing up the P, even tho P is listed as high. K levels are excellent but,,, Sodium is higher than K. when Na levels get 1/10th of 1% higher than K, the plants will take up Na instead of K. For this reason, K levels should be pushed up to around 6 or 7 percent saturation levels. Calcium and magnesium are border line and can be pushed up some to help with the Na problem. Sulfur is listed at 100lbs per acre, this can also be pushed up to around 160lbs and will help with the ph raisieng effect of the lime application.

Just wondering, did the top soil come from a cow pasture? That might explain the high Na levels. Are high zinc levels common in your area, or is it possible that you might have pulled a sample close to galvinized pipe buried in the ground, or used a galvinized piece of pipe to pull the cores?

3. David W

David W LawnSite Senior Member

Muddstopper, thanks for the breakdown. Your posts have been a great deal of help on this site.