Sole Proprietorships!?!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by THRIFTY, Oct 30, 2007.

THRIFTY LawnSite Member
    from (913)

I am now to the point in my lawncare career that I want to go legit with taxes, ins, the whole shabang. A few questions I have that I couldnt find are:

As a Sole propietor can I have a business name?
    How often do I file my taxes?
    What kind of ins do I carry?
    Do i need a CPA?
    What tax deductions are availible?

For 08' I plan to service roughly 35-45 accts. I am a college student and plan to quit my parttime job to mow fulltime. Am I headed in the right direction? Any input would be appreciated.:usflag:
  2. WeeDr

WeeDr LawnSite Member

As far as I know: (which isn't much)

1.Yes you can have a name
    2. Quarterly
    3. Liabality (Tell them your in the landscape buisness, it is realitvly cheap aproximaty $1,500 a year for 1,000,000 from what I found)
    4. Depends on your math skills I guess, probally advisable,
    5. Save all your recipts for gas, cell phone, food you eat on the job, clothing, insurance, CPA, if you run it out of your house some of the bills, equipment, repairs, maybe even your collage.

Now that I think about it you probaly do want to get a CPA and talk to them about what is deductable because there are probaly things I'm not mentioning,

Hope this helps,

3. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

NO! .......

THRIFTY LawnSite Member
    from (913)

Awesome feedback! Thanks for the reply!! ;)
  5. richter24

richter24 LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

If you are committed to this then you are 100% making the right move. Good luck.