Solo Fall Clean-up Blower Upgrade????

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by locallawncare.ca, Aug 28, 2014.

1. locallawncare.ca

locallawncare.ca LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ontario

Hello, I'm a solo operator full time, with fall clean-up approaching I'm considering upgrading my backpack blower. Currently have a br600 which is great and has served me well the last 3 seasons and also for fall clean-ups, in the summer it is also used in conjunction with my stihl handheld blower. So my question is, is it worth getting a bigger backpack blower just for fall clean-up? The br600 is more than enough all season and also holds its own during fall clean-ups as well, but with all of the threads about it being weak compared to a husq 8500 and comparable models. I'm not interested in a ground blower and work exclusively alone, all of the properties are small suburban homes 3-5k at the most, some have a fair amount of leaves with older trees and such. I also have a billy goat leaf loader and usually make a pile in the front and back and then drag the pile from the back to the front and suck it up. None of the homes have ravines or woods, most are heavily landscaped. I also have a trimmer trap rack mounted on my truck which makes it nice to transport, also not too keen on using a bigger heavier blower in the summer, also don't want the new blower to sit all season and only be used in the fall, although may not be a bad idea. So stick with the br600? or get something bigger?

2. weeze

weeze LawnSite Fanatic

stick with br600 until it gets worn out then buy a husqvarna 580bts.

3. New2TheGreenIndustry

New2TheGreenIndustry LawnSite Senior Member
    from GA

If you buy a Redmax 8500 or comparable Husqvarna(using the Redmax design), you'll wonder why you hadn't made the move sooner. The power difference is not even close. For regular season use, a BR 600 might do, but when you really need the power....especially if going solo, you need the Redmax.