1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Solo guys..... Any vacation time???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LwnmwrMan22, May 13, 2004.

1. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

I've been doing this job for 16 years now. I'm 32. Had 1 vacation (over 4 days) in that 16 years, my honeymoon. I had a crew so I was able to go to Alaska for 2 weeks.

That was 5 years ago now. I've gone back to being solo and am just trying to figure out how to get some vacation time built into the schedule over the next couple of years.

Does anyone stipulate in a contract, or tell people, "Listen, I'll be going on vacation with my family for 10 days beginning whenever to whenever, when I get back I'll double cut your lawn if need be" or do you guys just work all summer and wait for a dry spell and leave for a week then, when most of the work could wait a week?
  2. Littleriver1

Littleriver1 LawnSite Senior Member

whats wrong with going on vacation in the winter time? doesen't it snow in Min.?
  3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

My vacation is scheduled for late October on North Carolina's Outer Banks. I used to go in July but it's too much trouble trying to line up someone to do my work while I'm gone.
  4. LwnmwrMan22

LwnmwrMan22 LawnSite Platinum Member

Can't go on vacation when you've got to be around to plow snow. I plow at 1", still can't get away for more than 2-3 days, and still got to be close enough I could get back in 4-5 hours to start plowing if it starts to snow.
  5. grasswhacker

grasswhacker LawnSite Gold Member