1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Solo Operations - How many can u handle?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ktorrence, Jan 21, 2006.

1. ktorrence

ktorrence LawnSite Member
    from East TX

First, I'm new to LawnSite. I've learned so much and I say Thank You! for all the great information. I plan on being a solo operation. Personally, I would rather net 25k-35k a year being solo and offering my customers Top Notch personalized service versus the added stress of depending on employees. Besides, let's keep it real, cutting yards and good employees just don't mix very well. Toss in a few 100 degree days and my a-- would be grass.

Anyway, for the solo ops, how many customers could you handle under these guidelines: 1) Average size yard 7500 sq. ft. 2) All customers within a 45 mile radius. 3)Work schedule M-F Start @8am Finish 3pm(lunch on the fly) 4)60% mow, trim, blow; 30% mow, blow, trim, edge, fert(3 annually), hedge trimming(once monthly); 10% mow, trim, blow, edge, fert, hedge, turf pest control(as needed), weed control(as needed). 5) 70% gated 6) Equipment Exmark 60 lazer, Quick36 super duty wb, shindaiwa trimmer t270, Redmax 8000(please don't start another 8000 vs. BR600 let it be) 7)Allow for inclement weather and additional services such as mulch, aeration, fert (additional services done on saturday)

Ok, Talk it Up!!!!
  2. slebeau20

slebeau20 LawnSite Member
    from USA

I personally can handle about 8 lawns a day. After that I start getting tired and I'm not as sharp. This is on the residential end. Now on Fridays I do 15 acres of church properties. I'm not quite as bad because of riding while I'm mowing. This year something I am hoping a brand new Wright Stander will help. The past two years I've used the GS30 (the @ss kicker)
  3. MacPhersonlawn