1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

solo with full time job?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by 321birdguy, Mar 31, 2014.

1. 321birdguy

321birdguy LawnSite Senior Member

i am starting my lawn business this year i am solo and have a m-f job
    i was wondering about when you mow? saturdays, evenings? i currently get home like 5:30 pm from my regular job
  2. Nate'sLawnCare

Nate'sLawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member

Fortunately for me, my full time job is Mon to Thurs 4 pm to 2:30 am, so I have time during the day and I'm off every Friday. I don't know if I'd be able to manage my current clients with a different schedule.
  3. Moose's Mowing

Moose's Mowing LawnSite Senior Member

I do it but I'm a school teacher so I'm off all summer. The Spring isn't bad because the heavy work load hasn't usually started yet. Fall SUCKS, especially doing leaves. The hours don't bother me so much in the Fall, but the stress of being back to school (yeah yeah I know) and getting things going again, and trying to mow and do leaves takes it's toll. The worst part is in the Fall, you get less daylight to work in after the normal workday. Otherwise, it's not a big deal. can make for some long days though. Trick is to not take on more than you can realistically do. Been there, done that. It's hard to turn down work, but sometimes you have to. Last year I took on WAY too much work. I was doing everything and anything, but I was in the process of being laid off from teaching so I thought I might be doing it full time. I was able to build a good customer base but I was stressed to the max.

Not sure where you're at, but snow is more profitable than grass. I love mowing, but the $ is with snow. Might want to look in to that for the future.
  4. Chris_NC06

Chris_NC06 LawnSite Fanatic