Some mower comparisions and a couple questions

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by marrt, Apr 21, 2004.

1. marrt

marrt LawnSite Member

I have a history of making one decision, to save money or whatever, and then regretting the decision later. Therefore, ever though I really like the Ferris, I’m looking at all the top mowers just to be sure. My personal priorities, in order of importance, are: 1) ride, 2) brand reputation, 3) cost. Notice that cut quality is missing. That’s because I assume cut quality is part of the brand’s reputation. I’m not an expert so I wouldn’t recognize a great cut from a good one. However, you guys do, so that’s part of the brand’s reputation here. Same, to some degree, with overall dealer support (all the brands I’m looking at have a local dealer). So far, I have the follow observations:

- Ferris, 60 Fab Deck, 27HP Kohler - $8600. Love the ride but its expensive.
    - Exmark, 60 Fab Deck, 23HP Kohler - $7340. Love the reputation but think I need more HP. Suspect the ride is much worse than the Ferris on my property. Didn't get a price on the 27HP but suspect it is closer to $8500.
    - Toro, 60 Fab Deck, 23 HP Kohler - $7200. Basically, the same as the Laser but with a new deck design. Going to demo on my property (dealer wouldn’t allow Laser demo). For the difference, I would just get the Laser.
    - Cub Tank, 60 Fab Deck, 27HP Kohler - $7500. This thing really is built like a tank. Grease fittings everywhere. Cast Iron pulley’s and deck support. Looks too heavy to me but is impressive to “look at.”
    - Kubota ZD21, 60 stamped deck, 21HP Kubota Diesel, - $8700 ($9400 w/ Fab Deck). I love Kubota diesels. I think the suspension seat may give a decent ride. But, even though diesels have more torque, I wonder if a 21HP diesel is enough for my needs. I sometimes let my grass go a bit (sorry).