1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Some start up questions...

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dfwblackls, Dec 9, 2006.

1. dfwblackls

dfwblackls LawnSite Member
    from TX

Not NEW to business.. I have been mowing residential yards for ~10 years as extra income. Since I work a regular job (for insurance and stable income), mowing has always been for extra money... 2007 will present a special challenge. I will be getting married in October (my fiance' is also my "coworker" as she helps me with the landscaping) and we plan to finance our wedding with money from mowing... so I have a few questions about expansion... as I would like more than my 10 or so yards a week.

To keep overhead low, I have been borrowing my brother's truck. Over the last year, I have purchased a new Echo line trimmer, edger and blower (to replace Homelite units that worked great for the first 10 years of business). I will be buying some new equipment this year and have some questions.

1. Trailer. I am planning on buying a trailer just big enough for my mowers. I do not tow heavy equipment and do ~95% of my work is in fact just mowing. Since storage space is currently limited for me (city ordinances prevent outside storage of a trailer), I will be looking at getting something like a 4x6 trailer. Is this going to be enough for a 32/36" WB and a 21" walk behind? Everything else goes into the hatch of my car (a gutted Acura... only has seats for the two of us).