Sorry to interrupt the normal discussions, but I have a few questions...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rawx2, Mar 20, 2005.

1. rawx2

rawx2 LawnSite Member

Czesc! I'm new to both this forum and the business. From previous experience on forums I know I'll get blasted for being a newbie, but hopefully some of you serious guys can help me out. Here's my questions and some information to explain my situation... Also, please forgive me if these questions have already been addressed in other posts...

COMPETITION
    The county that I reside in and plan to start doing business - as a mowing company, not landscaping, not this year at least - has approximately 41,000 citizens with an estimated 'buying income' of around $1.4B. There are a lot of nursery businesses here, and as a result of that there are a lot of landscaping companies. I've talked to a few of the owners of the landscaping businesses and a majority of them said they prefer big jobs rather than just 'mowing jobs', obviously because the cost for their time, equipment, labor, etc. is substantial enough for them to have more of a need for higher paying jobs. Now, there are currently only five (5) 'mowing', 'lawn care', or 'lawn maintenance' businesses that advertise here.

FINANCES
    I recently received a $6,000 inheritance and plan to spend $5,000 of that to get a business started. The other $1k went toward debt relief :|. I've looked into equipment purchases (ie mower, weed-eaters, air tank, trailer, etc.) and it seems that obviously, I can't afford anything that would be considered 'top tier' when it comes to equipment. I've set aside a small about for advertising, gas expenses, business licenses (already purchased for both city and county), the 'tax lady' salary, as well as a new pair of work boots :).

ADVERTISING