southern states products vs lesco

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by burninbill, Dec 5, 2003.

1. burninbill

burninbill LawnSite Member

Has anyone here compared the quality of products that SS and lesco carry? I am looking for a place to beat prices because everyone tells me I am paying too much for my products? I have tried to call a UHS dealer but they won't return my calls.

Thanks,
    Jon

2. kickin sum grass

kickin sum grass LawnSite Senior Member

lesco can sell cheaper than other places. Getting them to do so is the tricky part. If you get a quote from somewhere on a comparable product they will usually match it. We have had them price products cheaper but usually it is a struggle but they will come down.

3. Buginout

Buginout LawnSite Member

I have never liked Lesco products much. I use Pro Source One for all my fertilizer needs. I check there prices every year and they are always the best price. I have been using them for over 15 years and I am still happy with the company. Here is the listed rep for you area.

Turf and Ornamentals
    Sales
    Jennifer Smith
    (931) 808-9169
    jdsmith@prosourceone.com

4. Hamons

Hamons LawnSite Senior Member

I'll second prosource one -- use them exclusively and they are the best!

5. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

Best price in order. Helena, UHS, Prosourseone, and Southern Agi.

I am talking with the Harrell's fertilizer salesman now. they have good products and we are still talking price.

I will give Prosource a big hand for all products. They carry Nursery supplies as well. I buy ground-cloth and linner trays and pots from them They even have 6 mil 4 year vinyl for greenhouses.

Right now many of the fert companies are hurting. Lesco is making a come back from there once hurting position of a year or so ago.