Southwestern Ohio fert and squirt programs?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by clut0350, Sep 29, 2004.

1. clut0350

clut0350 LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

I'm a rookie in the pesticide and fertilizer branch of the industry. I will be ( hopefully) licensed and insured by Spring 2005. Could anyone help me out on a ballpark figure on pricing per 1000sqft. I went to the local Lesco dealer today and obtained a quote for equipment as well as a 5-step program. I have a good idea of my cost per acre. How do we quote lawns in this field. I get the feeling that it is done by sq ft. and not acres. I have some experience with the lawn cutting and lanscaping aspect of the business so I am not completely ignorant. Should my application price be the same on all 5 applications or should I adjust it to whatever I am applying ( fertilizer & weed control vs. a fertilizer only application). Ex.#2 Pre-M in the early spring vs. fertilizer and broadleaf in late spring.? Should they all be the same price or should i have a different price for each different application on the same yard? We currently sub-contract our fert and squirt out to another lawncare company so I will not be starting from scratch. I am thinking of starting out with a 200-gallon skid sprayer( Lesco) an 80lbs Stainless Steel Spreader (Lesco) and finally a 4-gal backpack sprayer and a 3-gallon hand held sprayer. One for selective and another for nonselective herbicide. Any advice or constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

2. Pilgrims' Pride

Pilgrims' Pride LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA.

Hey New Guy,

Do a search on pricing.
    There is lots of info out there.
    Jim Cormier has given some great advice.
    Most importantly you need to know YOUR costs.
    All of them and then go from there.

3. James Cormier

James Cormier LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Ma

Bob, your too kind :blush: