1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

spark per rpm

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by odin, Sep 9, 2002.

1. Any one know if a vtwin kawasaki 4 cycle air cooled fires 1 spark per rpm or is it 2 sparks per rpm.

I got a new tach and i need to set the mode for either 1 spark per rpm or 2 sparks per rpm
  2. Floridalandcare

Floridalandcare LawnSite Senior Member
    from Tampa

I would think 2sparks per RPM. Not too sure
  3. KLMlawn

KLMlawn LawnSite Senior Member

Well, I am not a mechanic, but I think most mower engines are supposed to run in the high 3000's, between say 3600-3900 no load RPM. So try it both ways, if one setting is giving you only say 1800-1900 at full throttle with the blades off, then it must be the other setting .....
  4. 1 spark to 2 revolutions 4 cycle.

Intake, compression (spark) power, exaust.

2 cycle, 1 spark to 1 revolution
  5. EJK2352

EJK2352 LawnSite Bronze Member

That engine fires twice per revolution, once on the compression stroke and once on the exhaust stroke. The only small 4 strokes that fire once per revolution are ones with a distributor and Kohler K series with points. If you set the tach for 1 spark per revolution, the tach is going to show an RPM reading that is half of the actual speed. :) ;) :) ED
  6. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

The plug(s) fire once on every revolution. The magneto(s) (coil assembly) is fired off of the flywheel unless the engine has a distributor. It doesn't matter whether it's 2 stroke or 4, small engine or large (this usually only applies to outdoor power equipment engines).

Even the Ford Modular V-8 engines fire on every rev until the computer figures out which stroke the cylinder is on. And yes, they are crank triggered.
  7. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member