Spend $ to make $???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Carolina Cuts, Jan 24, 2006.

1. Carolina Cuts

Carolina Cuts LawnSite Bronze Member

This could be a ridiculous question... but I'll ask anyway. I'm a solo operator... 2nd year in biz. Twenty residential accounts, and I just acquired a nice size commercial 12 month contract. (20,400/yr mostly labor) for those who need to know... with the option of signing a 3 year contract starting in 2007. The question is... is it smart to eat the majority of this years income off this one particular account by buying new equipment? (Thinkin' Write Off-tax purposes) I already have the equipment to do the work, but is it a smart move to purchase MORE equipment ex. a new z-turn, walk behinds, blowers ..etc... maybe keeping it around the $10k range in new equipment?...

As of right now, I have 2006 F150, 12' trailer, 06' Stihl Trimmer, 06' Stihl Edger, Echo BP403 Blower (ugh), 04' Snapper 52' Z, JD Trimmer, Tanaka Stick Edger...

Wishlist... New desktop computer, Gopher Software, Giant Vac/Little Wonder push blower, Stihl BR600, 32' WB, 48' WB, Scag Turf Tiger....

2. meets1

meets1 LawnSite Gold Member

2nd year in biz - I guess it depend upon your equipment base currently such as hours on machines, age of machines, your repairs from last year. ( I always keep a log on every piece of equipment, no matter the size or $ amount of repair) This way come next year or during the year - yes that blower, mower truck has to go. If you can get by - I would pocket some money or profit - do a year end tax run with CPA, see if you need to spend $ b/f end of the year.

But if you need - go buy a new computer, blower or something - "toys" are always fun to work with!

3. Carolina Cuts

Carolina Cuts LawnSite Bronze Member

hmmm.... toys... :blob1: can I write off a 2006 YZ 125? haha j/k