Spring Pre M on fall overseeded lawn

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lance1, Feb 12, 2006.

1. lance1

lance1 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I'm new to this GREAT site. Question is should I use a pre m this spring on customers lawns that were seeded in late October Early November or should I just treat the weeds & crabgrass later. Really appreciate your replies of your experiences with this scenario.
  2. Green-Pro

Green-Pro LawnSite Bronze Member

I will not use a Pre-Emergence on the lawns I seeded late in the fall, instead I will put down a round of starter fert. I already explained to these customers they would experience a degree of weed growth and that getting the turf established is the most important thing at this point (spring '06), I went on to explain to them if we get the turf up to a healthy stand we can use a Post-Emergence such as Drive to help bring weeds under control.

TURFLORD LawnSite Senior Member

Same as above.
  4. lance1

lance1 LawnSite Member
    from NJ

Thanks Grren Pro. I'll communicate to my customers your recommendations, sure they'll be happy to hear it.
  5. Green-Pro

Green-Pro LawnSite Bronze Member

anytime, BTW welcome to the site :waving:
  6. baddboygeorge

baddboygeorge LawnSite Bronze Member

all the yards that i put in last fall got plenty of starter an had a few weeds in them so the pre merge is a definite for spring unless ya want weed infestation. see ya george
  7. H2o By Design

H2o By Design LawnSite Member

I would put pre emerg down or you will have weed infestation. They also make a preemerge for newly seeded lawns that will allow the seed to come up and stop weeds but name slips me at this time:confused:

best of luck whatever you do
  8. teeca

teeca LawnSite Bronze Member