1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

sprinkler blowouts

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by kempoone, Sep 6, 2011.

1. kempoone

kempoone LawnSite Member

I have been doing fall clean up and areating for several years. I want to start doing sprinkler blow outs. I need some info from someone experienced in doing this.
    -how big of a compressor do i need for residential service, tank volume , and horse power?
    - do most people just use electric and then plug into homeowners power ?
    how much of an investment would i expect to put down on a used compressor for this type of job?

thanks for any help

2. GreenI.A.

GreenI.A. LawnSite Silver Member

as little as you are going to be using it, get a tow behind from a rental company and bang them all out in day. some guys will try to use a regular air compressor because they figure it gets enough psi, but you need more cfm (cubic feet per minute) than these can give. A towbehind unit will blow out a typical residential unit atleast 3 times faster than a regular compressor and do a much more thorough job at it.

If I was you I would just sub it all to an irrigation contractor, you can make some money on the mark-up and be sure it is done right. Last thing you need is to have to replace a bunch of backflow preventors next spring. Most states require a plumber to replace backflows and pull a permit to do so, and thats not cheap

3. kempoone

kempoone LawnSite Member

one thing i forgot to mention is that i was also working a full time job that i lost a month ago. so i do have alot more time on my hands . so im not sure if i need to buy a big one or not . or if the cost of renting would pay off.