1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

St. Augustine green up

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by g8trjasonb, Mar 24, 2014.

1. g8trjasonb

g8trjasonb LawnSite Member

I might get banned for this post since I'm not a Lawn Professional, rather just someone looking for a bit of advice from those that are willing to share, but didn't see anything in the forum rules disallowing people like me, so apologies if I missed it.

Anyhow, a little background first. I re-sodded last spring with 12 pallets of Floratam in my backyard here in Jacksonville. I watered 4 days a week during the growing season, and 3 days/week from October-April.....all early morning waterings with an irrigation system and great coverage. I fertilize every 6-7 weeks with Bonus S and applied treatments of Scott's Winterguard in November and early January. I also treat for pests and keep it mowed. So, I feel like I'm doing everything right and my lawn really looked great all last year.

So far this year, it has not greened up at all and I'm starting to get worried. We had some freezes this winter, but nothing out of the ordinary, and my front lawn is doing fine and looks great (it's SA Classic, not Floratam though), as are the neighbors. One thing worth mentioning is that my house lost power in early January, which reset my irrigation system so it did not come on for about 2 weeks, maybe a little more until I realized it. I do not think it rained during this time either, and it was very cold.