St. Augustine Help! SAD or Brown Patch???

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by jackal42601, Mar 13, 2008.

1. jackal42601

jackal42601 LawnSite Member

Hey guys newbie here just trying to figure out what is the deal with my lawn/weed patch. Grass has become very thin with little thatch an some stolons and roots are dark brownish color, but no bugs and also new stolons are starting to emerge but I don't want them to die off just as fast. Any help would be much appreciated.

[​IMG]

2. tamadrummer

tamadrummer LawnSite Bronze Member

How much water are you putting down? Are you in a swamp or in a swampy area? To my untrained eye it looks like it could be "Take all root rot" and managing it is not simple.

More than likely you are going to need to tear out the sod and start over. I don't know if there are any soil treatments that a Fertilization company can apply prior to new sod going in to help prevent Take all rot again. If you are in a swamp, or swampy after rains, you will also want to bring in a landscape contractor/architect to regrade and add some type of drainage to keep the turf area in the proper conditions.

I may be going overboard if this is not take all root rot. There are many, many experienced Fertilization and Pest control guys here. Probably some in your area that would be able to come and work with you.

Good Luck,
    Brian

3. Military Lawns

Military Lawns LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

Right off the bat, looks like too much water. Root rot as someone else also suggested. I have a customer too lazy to fix a leaky pipe and this is what that part of the yard looks like.

Lay off the water a little bit. Dig the old grass up, grade it, put down some top soil making sure that the spot is deeper than the current grass in order to be flush with the new sod. Put some fresh sod down, light water for the next 30 days. Just my opinion.

DJ-

4. quiet

quiet LawnSite Senior Member