Stander not for me

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by scott's turf, Jul 1, 2002.

1. scott's turf

scott's turf LawnSite Senior Member
    from NH

Demoed a 52" WS on Friday and boy was it scary. I have been driving 54" gear drive wb for 5 years so this was quite a switch. It took great concentration to get the thing to go straight. There must have been something wrong too because with both levels pulled in it would pull to one side. My complaints with the mower are as follows:
    1. Both hands always have to be at controls so when a fly is taking a bite at your leg or sweat in your eyes you have to wait to stop.
    2. Required much more trimming because the rear wheels were so close to the edge of the deck.
    3. Would skid badly going down hills. In fact I went into the woods once and have to tow it out with my truck. great going up hills though.
    4. Burned my leg a couple times on the hydro pumps

I know that I am a rookie with this machine but I feel that I could mow 90% of my lawns faster with my wb than this machine and an experienced operator. Mostly because of the fact that I would have much less trimming to do, and I hate trimming. The thing I notice with going down hills is that a lot of the weight gets transfered to the front wheels which results in one of the rear wheels lifting up off the ground reducing breaking and eliminating some turning ablilty which can result in an out of control mower and colision with the woods. Luckily one can exit this machine fairly safely and quickly.

I am going to demo a 52" turf tracer this week and if that goes well may buy the 60" model. I want a mower that will do everything. Currently my yards average about 30-40mins with my wb. I am not looking as much to reduce that much as much as I want to have a hydro so it can pull me around better.