Start small, or start BIG?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Weslee, Jan 6, 2006.

1. Weslee

Weslee LawnSite Member

Dear lawn pros,
    I am 28 and a Sophomore in College. I am going to start mowing some lawns(PT during school, FT in summer) soon and seriously need some advice on equipment. So far, I've looked at a Craftsman GT5000 Garden Tractor, Toro Z400 and an Exmark Lazer HP. The difference between these machines is obvious: one costs less than half of the other two, with the bagger.

My question is this: I can afford any of the machines I've listed, but is it realistic to think I can make enough money in my first year to justify the purchase of a commercial Exmark or Toro?

Lawn Pros in the area say there is plenty of work to go around.
  2. cclllc

cclllc LawnSite Senior Member

You need to ask yourself is this what I really want to do for a living.You could buy a good used zero turn to get your feet wet the first year.
  3. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

how are you going to do this, in the spring when your in school, the lawns are grwoing full speed and will need your full time attention, how are you ging to ell the customer that youu can only do there lawns in the summer

maybe only take on a few yards, that you can handle when school is in session, what about fall, th lawns still need serviced...
  4. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

Sorry, but WRONG. The difference between the machines and the reason one is half the cost is because one is a homeowner piece of junk and the other two are quality professional grade commercial pieces of equipment.

So the real question for you should be, whether you buy new or as suggested maybe used, can you afford NOT to spend the extra money for quality equipment?

You also need to remember that the mower is not your only expense. You will need a truck, trailer, mower, trimmers, blowers, insurance, license, etc.