1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

"Starter" Equipment List??????

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by sailorslawncare, Oct 14, 2007.

1. sailorslawncare

sailorslawncare LawnSite Member

I need some suggestions for equipment to do mostly residential accounts. I think I am going to go with used equipment as I'm just getting started. I am going to be a "legit" lawn service so I want professional equipment for a decent price. Can you help???
  2. Leaf Jockey

Leaf Jockey LawnSite Senior Member

Bare minimum you need a mower to cut the grass. This could be a 21" push or a 72" ztr. It depends on the size of the properties, and size of your budget. You also need a string trimmer and a blower for cleaning up after yourself. You will also need to get this equipment to the job site. I'm not sure if this answers your question.

3. sailorslawncare

sailorslawncare LawnSite Member

a little more in depth... trailer size, brand of equip, size of mower (width&hp), how many trimmers, edgers, other tools, exc... I'm also gonna be doing tree services as well. The lawns are from less than a quater of an acre to half an acre. I have between $3000-$4000 to spend.
  4. advantage landscaping

advantage landscaping LawnSite Member

that's a fairly tight budget. first things first though. you NEED a truck and trailer. Let's hope you have the truck, and the right trailer hitch. For a trailer, go 6 x 12. You can go bigger in the future, but for now you need at least that. a 5 x 10 is pushing space considerations.