1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Starting a Crew

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Mowin&Coachin, Jul 1, 2006.

1. Mowin&Coachin

Mowin&Coachin LawnSite Member

Guys, I'm new to the business but business is going rather well so and I'm starting to think about starting a crew to help out. Currently, I take care of most of the yards with some help of a partner who helps when he can. I live in the DFW area of Texas and I was wanting some suggestions on getting a crew of probably two guys together to do some of my yards. I teach/coach so when fall comes around my time for mowing will be greatly reduced and I want someone who can take care of my business during this time of the year. I plan on growing anyway to where I will need the crews so I might as well get started now. Please let me know how you all get your crews and how you pay them (hourly or by the yard). You all really helped me out with a previous post so I'm sure I'll get more sound advice. Thanks ahead of time.

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

It's you business- It's your equipment- It's your customers- It's your properties- It's your money- It's your REPUTATION.

Your employee does not care about any of this. All they will care about is "THEIR MONEY" which is also really yours.
    Advice-- your are about to enter the worse part of this business. Start now as it will take a long time to get the right people. Maybe years. If you need a crew by fall so you can do your "real" job-- well all I got to say is - Good luck with it and have fun.:cry:
    Best advice I ever heard about this --- HIRE SLOW, FIRE FAST!
  3. Surf'n'Turf

Surf'n'Turf LawnSite Senior Member